The Pursuit of Heart

I know. I realize it’s been a long while since I’ve posted. Life has come at me from all directions over the last 2 months. From my grandma moving into my house, to my dad being put on the sidelines after having his appendix removed, and on top of all that a heavy work load from 2 work intensive classes, I’ve had to make some adjustments just to keep myself sane. Not to mention I’ve fallen into a bit of a rut as of late, but here’s the good news. I finished my first short film! Granted it’s a 101 film, and it could be better, but that’s part of the learning process.

Please enjoy my short 101 film, “Pursuit of heART,” and check my thoughts from the experience after the break.

I had an amazing time making this film. It was definitely a learning process. I’ve made skits and videos before, but I generally wing it. Since it was for class, I had to go through the entire pre to post production process from concept to storyboards to shooting to editing. It’s not like I didn’t know how beneficial storyboards and meticulous preplanning was, but I’d never employed it up until now, and it helped a great deal. My days of winging it did help when things got hectic, but I know I could’ve done better.

The one step in the process that didn’t pan out as planned ended up tying my film together, and that was the music. I started this project 3 months ago thinking I was going to get my cousin who DJs to help score it. Procrastination, among other things prevented that. Then a few weeks ago I was pointed towards the music of Kina Grannis, and stumbled across her song “Message from your Heart” just yesterday and it worked out beautifully.

The message of the film, I think, encapsulates my last two months to a T. You try to do what you want, what you see yourself doing and life can get in the way. But if you keep at it, you’ll eventually get to where you want to be.

Perseverance is a great quality, one that I’m continually working on. It’s amazing to see the fruits of your labor, and even greater to see people enjoy it (We screened it in class earlier tonight and I got some compliments that put me on cloud nine for a bit). Unfortunately, I’ve got one more big project left for school, but WHEN I’m done I’ll have completed my first screenplay (the first draft anyway).

In any case, I think I’ve come out of the rut and hopefully that will be the last 2 month gap I’ll have in posting. Hopefully, the film inspired someone. Please share your thoughts. Comment here or on the youtube page. I hope that you can inspire me somehow to make something better and I’ll post again soon to hopefully help inspire some of you.

~ by ryanisnogood on June 3, 2009.

Leave a comment